Search our Calendar of Events

Find The Fun

Everything NYC
Be in the know with City Guide

Event Details

This event has already taken place. View the Latest Events

THIS IS MODERN ART

Jun 02 Through Jun 23 | Sat |
Buy Tickets
View Website

Who decides what art is and where it belongs, and what is the role of race, class, and pedigree? THIS IS MODERN ART, the acclaimed and controversial play by Idris Goodwin and Kevin Coval, based on the 2010 “bombing” of the Art Institute of Chicago by an underground graffiti crew, is making its New York debut. The production by Blessed Unrest is directed by Jessica Burr and performing as part of the inaugural season of Next Door at New York Theatre Workshop. Blessed Unrest brings their award-winning, trademark physicality to a play that has wowed audiences in Chicago, Denver, New Haven, and Houston. The set design features a stage-filling original graffiti piece painted for the production by legendary NYC street artist KEO XMEN. The cast consists of returning Blessed Unrest collaborators J. Stephen Brantley, Nancy McArthur and Ashley N. Hildreth, as well as the actors making their debut with the company: Andrew Gonzalez, Shakur Tolliver, and Landon G. Woodson.

THIS IS MODERN ART by Idris Goodwin and Kevin Coval Directed by Jessica Burr

Next Door at New York Theatre Workshop 79 East 4th Street New York, NY 10003 $20 for the shows on June 2–4; $25 June 7–11; and $35 June 14–23 https://www.nytw.org/show/this-is-modern-art/ Saturday, June 2 Sunday, June 3 Monday, June 4 Thursday, June 7 Friday, June 8 Saturday, June 9 Sunday, June 10 Monday, June 11 Thursday, June 14 Friday, June 15 Saturday, June 16 Sunday, June 17 Monday, June 18 Thursday, June 21 Friday, June 22 Saturday, June 23

Venue: Next Door at New York Theatre Workshop

79 East 4th Street Map