Search our Calendar of Events

Find The Fun

Everything NYC
Be in the know with City Guide

The Big Picture: Representing Our Climate-Altered World On-Screen

Jan 24 | Tue |
Buy Tickets
View Website
Looking for things to do in NYC? Get our free email with 8 can't-miss city events every week Sign-up Here

Join NRDC's Rewrite the Future at the 2023 Sundance Film Festival on January 24, 2023 at 11 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. ET for The Big Picture: Representing Our Climate-Altered World On-Screen. The event will feature Roxane Gay (author of Bad Feminist, Difficult Women, Hunger, and the Marvel Comic World of Wakanda) in conversation with Franklin Leonard (founder and CEO of the Black List).

Topics will include the creative opportunities, challenges, and pitfalls of climate representation across genres and the potential of storytelling to shift culture narratives, build social movements, and inspire action.

Presented in collaboration with the Sundance Institute, Variety, Writers Guild of America East, Writers Guild of America West and YEA! Impact. Registration is required for this free virtual event. Reserve your tickets today: https://on.nrdc.org/3FLmlLC

Participant Biographies: Roxane Gay is a writer, professor, editor, and social commentator. She is a contributing New York Times opinion writer, author of the books Bad Feminist, Difficult Women, Hunger, and World of Wakanda for Marvel. She is working on several television and film projects and has a newsletter and podcast.

Franklin Leonard is a film and television producer, cultural commentator, and entrepreneur. He is the founder and CEO of the Black List. He is a contributing editor at Vanity Fair and the recipient of the 2019 Writers Guild of America East Evelyn Burkey award for elevating the honor and dignity of screenwriters. About Rewrite the Future: Rewrite the Future aims to enlist the power of storytelling to help us turn the climate crisis around. We offer a range of support to encourage more, varied, and compelling climate stories in entertainment, including content experts and story consulting, events and workshops, and help with new project development. NRDC’s Rewrite the Future will return to the Sundance Film Festival for the fourth year in a row. Our curated conversations continue to explore how the power of storytelling can shift culture narratives, build social movements, and create long-term impact.

Venue: Virtual

https://on.nrdc.org/3FLmlLC Map
646- 64-7 7226